Stabat Mater


SKU: AAX-156 Categories: ,

Stabat Mater is a 20 movement cycle of audio/visual ecstatic visions from experimental sacred audio/visual duo ARIADNE. The cycle is being released as a purely musical work on cassette tape and as an interactive audio/visual web based experience. Stabat Mater is heavily inspired by the visions of female Christian mystics Hildegard von Bingen and Teresa of Ávila. The lyrics for Stabat Mater include adaptations of writings from these mystics fused together with text taken from surrealist poet Aase Berg’s With Deer and Dark Matter (both translated by Johannes Göransson and published by Black Ocean).

In contrast to the interactive digital sanctuary, the cassette version serves as a physical relic for these visions and represents another path to experiencing the audio material. The dualistic nature of ARIADNE is fully realized by the balancing of digital creation with analog reproduction, professionally duplicated onto hi-fi Chrome+ tape stock. The format was also chosen for its encouragement of uninterrupted listening sessions, with movements transitioning seamlessly into one another and purposefully shedding the burden of listener interaction. The physical version is being released in “light” and “dark” editions with inverted cover art, case and cassette colors for each, with both featuring multi-panel artwork and full lyrical transcripts.

Includes access to digital download immediately upon purchase.


  • Black or white pro-duplicated Chrome+ cassette
  • Black or white shell imprinting
  • Black/clear or White/clear hardshell cases
  • 12-panel J-cards with 2x art variations
  • 100 Light Editions / 100 Dark Editions


A01 – 02:58 – wounds renew
A02 – 03:56 – mother weeping
A03 – 03:33 – nourishment
A04 – 00:50 – she beneath
A05 – 01:09 – burning sphere
A06 – 02:13 – fragile veils
A07 – 02:01 – black vein
A08 – 05:03 – on your knees
A09 – 01:23 – shell
A10 – 04:36 – fount of love
B01 – 00:55 – pierce me through
B02 – 02:17 – nailed to my body
B03 – 00:52 – veil of water
B04 – 02:41 – scab
B05 – 02:19 – grief divine
B06 – 04:37 – fetus lily
B07 – 01:37 – cast down the flesh of your body
B08 – 02:27 – feeble heart
B09 – 01:39 – half-open mouth
B10 – 02:35 – streams of mercy

Categories ,
Catalog # AAX-156
Shipping Class Media Mail
Weight 3.5 oz
Dimensions 5 × 3 × 2 in

Light, Dark


  • Pi (1998) - Film on Tape Film on Tape
  • Morsunda - Ghetto Future Morsunda
    Ghetto Future
  • Kid Overdrive - A NES-Core Story Kid Overdrive
    A NES-Core Story
  • Dante Augustus Scarlatti - Mu Blaksids Ittal Racs Dante Augustus Scarlatti
    Mu Blaksids Ittal Racs
  • Unholy Triforce - Norton 80/100 Unholy Triforce
    Norton 80/100



  • Sale! Medusa - Divine Malice [LP] Medusa
    Divine Malice [LP]
    Original price was: $9.00.Current price is: $7.00.
  • Sale! Joey Molinaro - Say At Last: I Who Will Forever Evil, Yet Do Forever Good Joey Molinaro
    Say At Last : I Who Will Forever Evil, Yet Do Forever Good
    Original price was: $7.11.Current price is: $6.00.